Fairport Convention

Fairport ConventionFairport Convention are often credited with being the first English electric folk band. Formed in April 1967, Fairport rapidly developed from playing cover versions of American 'west coast' style music to an individual style which melded rock music with traditional English tunes and songs.
Fairport Convention is still one of the busiest bands around. The current line-up of Simon Nicol, Dave Pegg, Ric Sanders, Chris Leslie and Gerry Conway still packs venues on its frequent tours.